Мониторинг дела Петра Порошенко (заседание 08.07.20)

8 июля в Печерском районном суде г. Киева состоялось заседание по делу пятого президента Украины Петра Порошенко.

Это было третье заседание по избранию Порошенко меры пресечения.

П. Порошенко подозревают в том, что он склонил главу Службы внешней разведки (далее – СВР) Егора Божко к незаконному приказу, а именно к назначению на должность заместителя главы СВР Сергея Семочко.

Ход событий

10 июня 2020 года – П. Порошенко сообщили о подозрении по поручению Генерального прокурора.

18 июня 2020 года – в Печерском суде началось избрание меру пресечения. Прокуроры заявили о ходатайстве об избрании меры пресечения для экс-президента в виде содержания под стражей, но позже, сменили ходатайство на личное обязательство.

1 июля 2020 года – состоялось заседание на котором рассматривалось ходатайство прокуроров, но позже судья объявил перерыв в заседании.

8 июля 2020 года – продолжили рассматривать ходатайство, на заседании начали допрашивать двух понятых, которые присутствовали во время вручения Порошенко подозрения. Защита спрашивала, показывали ли им прокуроры постановление о доверенности на совершение процессуальных действий, но один из них отметил, что не помнит этого, но якобы позже оригинал документа он видел.

Со слов П. Порошенко, вручение ему подозрения прошло с рядом нарушений процессуального законодательства, а значит – подозрения не было, однако, сторона обвинения с этим не согласилась. Прокуроры сообщили, что сторона защиты постоянно ищет основания, чтобы избежать получения документа. В то же время, прокурор указывает на тот факт, что все документы есть в материалах уголовного производства и сторона защиты имеет возможность ознакомится с ними.

Так как, П. Порошенко утверждает, что не видел высшеуказанное постановление, защита  рассценивает это как фальсификацию документов. В частности, чтобы вручить подозрение П. Порошенко сотрудники Генеральной прокуратуры должны были показать три документа: сообщение о подозрении, постановление о доверенности на совершение процессуальных действий и само поручение об осуществлении процессуальных действий.

На протяжении всего заседания экс-президент обвинял прокуроров в том, что они совершают преступление (фальсификация документов), так же заявлял, что они станут подозреваемыми и понесут за это ответственность, и указывал на то, что прокуроры  исполняют указания Бабикова (адвокат экс-президента В. Януковича), Генерального прокурора Венедиктовой и нынешнего президента Зеленского. На любые унизительные фразы Порошенко в сторону обвинения в зале суда звучали аплодисменты от активистов, а также крики: «Ганьба!» (позор!). Непосредственно, такие действия со стороны подозреваемого можно расценивать как давление на сторону обвинения.

Позже, после небольшого перерыва в заседании, неожиданно для всех один из прокуроров сообщил о завершении досудебного расследования, поэтому он считает, что рассмотрение ходатайства об избрании меры пресечения являетсяу невозможным.

Защита обратила внимание суда на то, что, как следует из сообщения ГБР, расследование было завершено 7 июля, в то же время решение о продлении его сроков было принято Печерским судом 8 июля, и прокуроры не сообщали суду о завершении разбирательства.

Нельзя не указать на тот факт, что у стен суда традиционно собрались «сторонники» пятого президента с плакатами «Нет политическим репрессиям!» и т.д. Как показывает практика, такие действия могут расцениваться как попытка вмешаться в процесс и повлиять на принятие решения судом, ведь это может восприниматься судьями как психологическое давление. Похожую ситуацию наблюдатели МОПЧ отмечали в делах Муравицкого В., Мельника А., Мефедова Е.

В итоге суд оставил без рассмотрения ходатайство прокуроров об избрании меры пресечения.

Monitoring the Petr Poroshenko case

On July 8, in the Pechersky District Court of Kiev, a hearing was held on the case of the fifth President of Ukraine Petr Poroshenko.

This was the third hearing to elect Poroshenko a measure of restraint for Poroshenko.

P. Poroshenko is suspected of having persuaded the head of the Foreign Intelligence Service (hereinafter – FIS) Yegor Bozhko to an illegal order, namely, to appoint Sergei Semochko to the post of deputy head of the FIS.

Course of events:

June 10, 2020 – P. Poroshenko was informed of the suspicion on behalf of the Prosecutor General.

June 18, 2020 – the election of a measure of restraint began in the Pechersky Court. Prosecutors announced a petition to choose a measure of restraint for the ex-president in the form of detention, but later changed the petition to a personal obligation.

July 1, 2020 – a hearing was held at which the petition of the prosecutors was considered, but later the judge announced a break in the session.

July 8, 2020 – they continued to consider the petition; at the hearing they began to interrogate two attesting witnesses who were present during the presentation of the suspicion to Poroshenko. The defense asked whether the prosecutors had shown them the decree on the power of attorney to perform procedural actions, but one of them noted that he did not remember this, but allegedly later he saw the original document.

According to P. Poroshenko, the presentation of suspicion to him took place with a number of violations of procedural legislation, which means that there was no suspicion, however, the prosecution did not agree with this. Prosecutors stated that the defense is constantly looking for reasons to avoid obtaining the document. At the same time, the prosecutor points to the fact that all documents are in the materials of criminal proceedings and the defense has the opportunity to get acquainted with them.

Since P. Poroshenko claims that he did not see the aforementioned resolution, the defense considers it as falsification of documents. In particular, in order to hand over the suspicion to P. Poroshenko, the employees of the General Prosecutor’s Office had to show three documents: a report of suspicion, a decree on a power of attorney to perform procedural actions and the very order to carry out procedural actions.

Throughout the hearing, the ex-president accused the prosecutors of committing a crime (falsification of documents), also stated that they would become suspects and be held accountable for this, and pointed out that the prosecutors were following Babikov’s instructions (lawyer of the ex-president V. Yanukovych), Prosecutor General Venediktova and current President Zelensky. Any humiliating phrases of Poroshenko in the direction of the accusation were heard in the courtroom with applause from the activists, as well as shouts: “Shame!” Directly, such actions on the part of the suspect can be regarded as pressure on the prosecution.

Later, after a short break in the session, unexpectedly for everyone, one of the prosecutors announced the completion of the pre-trial investigation, therefore, he believes that consideration of the petition for choosing a measure of restraint is impossible.

The defense drew the court’s attention to the fact that, as follows from the report, the investigation was completed on July 7, at the same time the decision to extend its terms was made by the Pechersky court on July 8, and the prosecutors did not inform the court about the completion of the proceedings.

One cannot fail to point out the fact that “supporters” of the fifth president traditionally gathered next to the court with posters “No to political repression!” etc. As practice shows, such actions can be regarded as an attempt to intervene in the trial and influence the decision-making by the court, because this can be perceived by the judges as psychological pressure. A similar situation was noted by the observers of the ISHR in the cases of V. Muravitsky, A. Melnik, E. Mefedov.

According to the case law of the ECtHR, mere signs of pressure on the court may be enough to call into question the fairness of the trial. If there is a chance that the executive branch may change the decision or suspend its execution, then this deprives the characteristic of an “independent” court (paragraphs 45-55 of the case “Van de Hurk v. The Netherlands”).

Article 6 § 1 of the Convention requires the independence of the court from the other branches of government (i.e. the executive and legislative) and from political parties (“Ninn-Hansen v. Denmark”). Also, the ECtHR notes that the national courts are composed entirely of professional judges, whose experience and qualifications, in contrast to the jury, allow them to resist any external influences (para. 104 of the case “Craxi v. Italy”; para. 75 of the case “Mircea v. Romania”).

As a result, the court left without consideration the petition of the prosecutors to choose a measure of restraint.